The university operates on a semester system, with the calendar year divided into fall, spring, and summer sessions. The summer session (see below) is integrated with the two semesters of the academic year. This arrangement makes it possible to complete the baccalaureate degree requirements through almost continuous study or arrange the normal work of two semesters in any desirable sequence.